h1

The loss of the first generation

November 4, 2007

We had some bad news last week; my uncle passed away unexpectedly.

He was the first generation that came to this country in the late 1960’s. He was my father’s youngest brother and my dad and mum are really finding this difficult. They miss him.

A teacher by trade, he taught in East Africa and in this country too before going into business. His students here still remember him. Me,  I have fond memories also.

As a child growing up, I remember he and his brother were always under the engines of cars. The old Ford Anglia, the Cortina, the Datsun Bluebird SSS, Alfa Romeo’s, all sorts, even a Mercedez Benz!

They had a Mazda that was like s— off a rocking horse. But most importantly, he was actually there for me whenever I needed him, either for the car, or for me as an individual.  Here’s to you Uncle.

We loved you dearly. And we will miss you. As for being Black in Blue, he was a true confidant, and I miss him. 

15 comments

  1. They sound like good memories to treasure and the mark of the man that you do.


  2. Thanks Noddy, just got back. Have been travelling up and down for three days. Migraine too! My parents are taking this badly. Mum and dad are both frail. But my elder brother has been good. I have no answers.

    My uncles wife returned from the USA today with her other son. It was a shocking day today. I did go to the Chapel of rest. It’s funny how families stick together.

    As kids me and the two cousins ate together. It was the same today. This first generation from East Africa are a critical generation. Not writing anymore today….


  3. My Condolences


  4. sorry for your loss friend.


  5. I am so sorry.


  6. Thinking of you.


  7. I have realised one very important thing. When it comes to the crunch who really matters? You folks above matter, because without support this is a lonely road for us all. I showed my uncle this blog, so he has read it some time ago. He would be smiling now. John N, Noddy, annette, UNPC, ego surfing, thank you.


  8. I’m so sorry for your families loss. He sounds like a good man who was proud and loved his family. I’ll light a candle for him.


  9. That generation gave so much love it was unbelievable. Like I say, from what I can remember this generation never turned anybody away. Thank you Roses.


  10. As above, sorry for the loss. I’m guessing that however amazing your memories may be,they’ll be tinged with sadness at the moment. Brave man for blogging it.


  11. ASNT – It’s finally hit me today. He ain’t ever coming back. I took some rest days owed. Don’t know about brave ASNT – this was may way of saying to him I loved him so much. Yes the memories were amazing. He never left me out, as a child I tagged along with him, his wife and their two boys. We were the same age, his boys and I. I spent all the holidays at their house. He always included me. What is also iportant is the comments from people here. None of you folks know me, yet as colleagues and friends, you have stood beside me. I know the sacrifices this generation have made. That’s what hurts so.

    Short obituary – Born in a village in Gujarat he was one of 6 siblings. He was the youngest child to a teacher and housewife. His parents gave him the name which means peace and laughter. His formative years were spent in East Africa; where he married his wife from Tanzania. He too became a teacher like his father, and he had a passion for cars, the old peugeot 404 was his favourite. In the 1970’s, drawn by his brother, he moved to England and settled in teaching where his students adored him and continue to remeber him. On Friday last he passed away at home, and like his name, he left us in peace. Through his life there are countless family and community members that will remember him as the man who always helped others. He leaves two boys and his wife.


  12. My deepest condolences to you and your family my friend. I’m glad you’ve took some time out. They wouldn’t let me.


  13. Oh Twining, I’m so sorry to hear that. To lose a family member is awful but to lose a family member in such unexpected circumstances can knock you. He sounded a very good man.
    Condolences to you as well as his wife & sons & the rest of the family. Thoughts are with you Twining xxx


  14. Pick something special. It will always remain. Regards.


  15. Hi Twining,

    My sympathies to you, I have been out of action lately, so only just saw your blog, take care

    regards,

    Berty



Leave a Reply

