h1

The river girl – Shalifea Ahmed

January 12, 2008

image.jpeg(Updated.) I feel compelled to write about the story of the river girl, Shalifea Ahmed. Why? Because this is a sad tale. The find of her body has upset many many people. That means this issue affects us all.

The Coroner reached a verdict of unlawful killing claiming that those close to her had not been as true as they could have. The Coroner may be right. This is difficult.

What was perhaps the silliest television interview by a Senior Officer for some time resulted in the ACC of the Force, talking of an “emotional outburst” by the family. This is the type of hidden Liberal comment we hear day in day out in our establishment.

There may be many truths as to what happened to “the river girl.” That’s how I will remember her. There is no doubt that the girl was struggling with her cultural background. The Muslim community must contend with this issue first; then we must try and understand it. This does not mean that all she told her friends and teachers was the truth though. Children are known to spin the truth to become popular with their peers. The family may have suggested a wedding. This does not mean that they were going to force her, or that mother and father were involved in the murder. Did the girl not return from Pakistan?

I accept Honour killings exist, but there was no evidence that the girl was in a relationship or was pregnant, or anything of the sort. The family have asked for a Judicial review because they say they want to know the truth.

My view is perhaps they are innocent in that they were not involved in the killing or any abduction. And the stupid and thoughtless remarks of one Senior Police Officer, may brand all Muslim people badly. Perhaps the family fear how their culture impacts on what it is being British, e.g. arranged marriages, etc. These are questions the family must deal with. May she rest in peace.

The Detective leading the hunt says he vows to catch the killers. I say this genuinely. This statement is more sensitive and has more credibility than what the ACC said; “emotional outbursts.”

11 comments

  1. Twining, I normaly like reading your blog .. But of late I cannot shrug the feeling, you don’t really like other people you disagree with do you?


  2. Not at all; there are not many people I know here. Those I do know, through the blogs, I like. I may disagree, but that’s about all. I Like everyone one on my sidebar, you seem Ok too. This is a diffuclt road. I guess I am in a minority here but when people use the term, “emotional outburst, it’s often used to backtrack the maker of the comments own issues.

    The parents may be involved, but they also might not be involved. The point I was making was, must the ACC be be right if he says it is “emotional outburst.” I can remember a Derbyshire job where the Chief wouldn’t talk to a mother of a girl murdered in a harassment case. Are Chiefs alsways right? This Chief dismissed one colleague on the front line, but was it not the systems that were at fault? Yet he wouldn’t speak to the mother. Is that right?


  3. “Emotional outburst” isn’t necessarily a criticism, is it? If my daughter turned up dead in a river, I might have an outburst or two whether I killed her myself or not.


  4. Oh I don’t disagree with you, Many of our fearless leaders are using “pc speak” to brush away blatent ignorant acts of stupidity and I would go so far to say to justify totally out of order acts of brainless twitery. Why can’t Chief officers be just seen and not heard like good little boys and girls should be?


  5. Bloggs, good point. “Emotional outburst” is a term I have come across before to describe the behaviour of ethnic minority people, allowing some senior bods to then walk away from their comments. I think he meant it as a criticism, body language, the way he said it, etc. I don’t know whether the family are guilty or not. I’d like to think not, but I don’t know.

    TBL – Am with you on this also – Who put the ACC there as a mouthpiece? – and a bad one at that. Whatever the circumstances the truth must come out. A sad incident. I do think there is a need to look at what was happening within the cultural situation also. I expect for my views some Muslim colleagues will have a go at me. As a society this is where we all can learn. Such cultural misgivings can cause a lot of distress to kids. As I said, may she rest in peace. As for honour killings, well they scare me. (I have updated this. Perhaps I was having an emotional outburst initially?)


  6. It would be a foolish policeman who when off duty hung around with the underclass as his mates. So if you wish to be a part of British society having achieved the state of civilisation it has reached today, then why would you choose to hang around with ethnic minorities who still practice and perpetuate their culture, many hundreds of years behind in the civilisation race as shown by its male population who oppress their women by denying them education, self expression, a right to be an individual and not owned, have practices such as stoning people to death as a law, kill your female offspring, etc. etc. etc….

    … you would like them to be not guilty but you don’t know, well I know its you and your superior ethics who are still living in a world 500 years behind the ethnic Brits, your primitive culture is what killed that poor beautiful Shalifea, and you Mr Twinning should do a lot more representing what your uniform stands for and not standing up for the arrogant and ignorant primitive culture you descend from.

    Catch up and show the easteners how to open their eyes to decency and respect for others then the whole world can live in peace together, stop representing colour all the time try representing the honest and civil, I don’t deny western culture has its bad points, I mentioned underclass already and that’s also why we also have the .. cough… cough… I was going to say the best police force in the world, or maybe those New Labour idiots have destroyed that one, we sure took a step back 500 years with that lot.


  7. I accept Honour killings exist, but there was no evidence that the girl was in a relationship or was pregnant, or anything of the sort.

    50% of ‘honour’ killings are motivated by the refusal of the youngster to accept an arranged marriage, as appears to be the case in the Shafilea Ahmed ‘unlawful killing.’



  8. I think this is a difficult news story to comment on. For quite a few reasons, least of all being race. Unfortunately, what it does highlight is the lack of facts in the case and the unhelpful use of labels.

    The use of ‘Muslim’ is certainly not helpful in this case. There is an assumption that Muslim is a generic description of a religious practice. If one tries to apply ‘Christian’ in the same way, you can see where the problem starts. There are fundamental Christians, Methodists, Catholics, Protestants, Amish, Lutherians etc. All with their different take and implementation of the same theme. And if you think that the Amish or Mormons are open-minded, free-thinking, egalitarian individuals, you can think again.

    My personal experience of Muslim women has been far from the timid, browbeaten, covered. They’ve been feisty, articulate and ruled their houses with an iron fist. In my experience Muslim men adore their children, regardless of sex. They are affectionate, supportive, protective and strict. One could legitimately argue that strict is a word missing from a Chav’s upbringing.

    My experience of policemen and the statistics that they compile and use, suggest that 97% of murders are committed by people within the deceased’s family or social group.

    Stranger danger be damned. It’s your family you have to watch out for.

    This must be a hideous case to investigate. Chances are the dectives conducting the investigation will have ‘statistics’ running in the back of their minds. The family innocent or not, will be more than aware of previous cases of ‘honour’ killings, and will know full well that they will be the first on the Prime Suspect list.

    It isn’t surprising that the police are looking at the family, and the family aren’t trusting the police.

    The solution will not come from slinging unhelpful labels about. The solution will come from physical evidence, which of course is not always right either. This is not a black and white situation and unfortunately the River Girl is the one who is caught up in the grey.


  9. Where is the ‘honour’ in honour killings? This is a term used by stone age people who are unable to accept that individuals, especially children, have a different point of view from their parents. If I had daughters I may have wanted them to marry heterosexual, kind hearted, doctors or lawyers, but I certainly wouldn’t have them strangled, mutilated or stabbed just because they didn’t want to.

    Islam is a junior religion to Christianity, starting some 400 years after Christ but, unlike most of the recognised religions, has not advanced one step from its comparative stone age beginnings. The Christian church is far from blameless with its crusades, inquisitions and witch burnings but it has advanced from there as society progressed.

    Islam, in its harshest form, still advocates stoning of adulterers (which includes women who have been raped), the removal of hands or feet for theft and public flogging of anyone who is accused of insulting islam (real or imagined). Various Imams bend the sayings of the prophet Mohammed for their own uses, which have less to do with the idealogy of Islam but more to do with the increase of their own power base.

    All religions have their faults but Islam never recognises those faults as their religion is ‘pure’. There is is no honour in the killing of children because they want a different life than their parents – merely dishonour, disgrace and, hopefully, the full force of the law. Please stop using the term ‘honour killings’. There is no such thing.


  10. I am comfortable with my views Lozzy, and I do not condone any honour killing or murder.

    Actually I have been quite balanced here and the Senior D has my support. Your comments explain my post fully.

    Roses you offer balance as usual, which I do admire.

    Plodnomore, there is no honour if the river girl was murdered by family. No honour at all.

    To stop honour killings or show my protest at them I use the word, “honour” knowing full well that to tackle people that do this or consider this word we must push this word in the face of society and Islam and other faiths.



Leave a Reply

