h1

HR Department – Department of Human Resources or Human Rhetoric? You tell me…

April 30, 2008

It was early morning, around 6.30. I had just got on to the main drag and was bumbling along the road. The sun hit the windscreen. All I could see was the greenery of the hedges to my left, and then I saw him, with about 25 feet to spare I saw a cyclist camouflaged in a dark green jacket riding his pedal cycle in front of me. I was glad I had left some room on the nearside. Phew I thought. Sometimes you just miss people totally. They are not in your view.

And this reminds me of what Gadget said about HR persons. These people are mostly there somewhere; you might not see them but when you do, it’s probably too late! But what do they do? They have an answer for everything and their use of language is so subtle. Not that this is all too bad, but in terms of race, in my experience, some are very much against anti racism. It isn’t good though is it?

They will always find an excuse, a personality clash or something. They are very stealth like in their operation and often are the bane of my life as far as people matters are concerned. They are the gatekeepers of Human Resources and “protect” the Force and perhaps with several untruths. But who do they protect and from whom?

Find me one HR person that has attended tribunal and said, “yes we got it wrong, sorry.” No, see, you won’t, I wonder why? Mind you these are not the only ones that do this. Force communications or media is another fine department who want to sell only good news stories, not the truth as it is.

Some years ago I am led to believe one of the senior bods in media went to see a senior officer and stated they did not want to see Sergeant Twining in their department. Two minority ethnic members of staff in the same department were aware I believe of this; yet neither challenged this senior Human Rhetorical person. Instead years later one told me of this.

Great! And what had I said or done wrong? Nothing other than I went to the office without an appointment! And this goes straight to the top? Do my actions here warrant this sort of exclusion? No, so what really was it about?

The fact was bad news does not sell and they didn’t expect to to see an intelligent person who might ask them what they are doing or even make some suggestions? Everytime I walked into the office I thought the atmosphere was not cool. I asked for tea yaaar! And never got any. Yep, I was right. They call this perception. I call it experience. Human Rhetoric eh?

One comment

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptCorporate communications or media is another fine department who want to sell only good news stories, not the truth as it is. Some years ago I am led to believe one of the senior bods in media went to see a senior officer and stated … […]



Leave a Reply

