h1

Sometimes we are lost for words….

May 16, 2008

Bob Marley – Redemption Song

Here’s something special from Bob Marley, I often listen to music when there’s nothing else left. What happened to the police officer in Manchester was indescribable. I hope this colleague recovers soon.  I don’t even know the injuries he has sustained. The thugs, well they behaved like a pack of animals. And the Met Officers involved in the shooting in London, who would have wanted to be in their shoes? May God give them some strength…

The below is a typical of what we have to put up with….

“WELL DREAM ON..NOT LIKELY TO HAPPEN IN THIS LIFETIME. ALL MUSLIMS SHOULD DIE AND HINDUS AND CHRISTIANS AND JEWS NEED TO KILL EVERY MAN WOMAN AND CHILD BEFORE WE CAN ALL BE SAFE.” 

It comes from an anonymous contributor in response to a post I had written. I’d have rather hoped the contributor would have understood where I was coming from by now. Some of us, well, we have never wanted much, just freedom.  We have never sold our dignity. Is this too much to ask for? The chance to be heard, to be listened to.  This is too much too ask for. Today I have written one of the hardest reports I will ever have to written in my career.

Some of our bosses have no dignity I am afraid….Our kids, well they understand these games…The problem is if our bosses continue, then our kids will fight….But who will they then fight? There will come a day when a bobby on the street is hurt because of the games our bosses play….Sergeant Twining’s therefore going away for a while…..Don’t know for how long though….As for the game players; well they are CORRUPT IN MY OPINION.

Alas I am a wee bit tired…..No matter where I look I can’t find what I am looking for. Where are the Ninja Turtles in all this? The tights? And Superman? There is no sweet smell of Roses around here, and I am rather bedazzled by this all. I look for the man in a Columbo jacket; even he’s not here and Jo, well Jo’s somewhere here and there. Some of us have 200 weeks to go though….Some of you will know my references here…..(This is not babble by the way). And before I am bitten by a dog I shall say Namaste….

4 comments

  1. I love Bob Marley, he is well known for his songs about love and peace and togetherness. He tried hard to get us to live together in harmony.


  2. Twining,

    Please understand that you are not alone. There are, unfortunately, millions of human beings who feel just the way you do. Exasperated by a system that is there to support themselves. I worked in that kind of environment previously and there are two things you can do:

    1. Get out. Make a new life for yourself. Create the life you require. It is hard, esp if you have responsibilities, etc. but nothing good comes easy.

    2. Stay and fight, constructively. The BPA needs people like you to help those who come after.

    I got out of my situation and I have NEVER looked back – the only regret I had was not getting out sooner! The systems control you to ensure you feel you cannot survive without the regular income, the career prospects, paying the mortgage, etc. Total bull!

    Humans are resourceful creatures, hence other species have died out in the time that we have been here.

    We are survivors and so are you, Twining.

    A quote from Helen Keller:

    Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Security
    does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a
    whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the
    long run than exposure.

    This from a woman who was deaf and blind and enjoyed her life despite all the obstacles.

    I wish you well with whatever you are doing.

    Regards, Zee


  3. […] was indescribable. I hope this colleague recovers soon? I don’t even know the injuries he has..https://twining.wordpress.com/2008/05/16/534/A Festival for You East Bay ExpressArguably the best culture event in the East Bay, Oakland’s annual […]


  4. reprogram says : I absolutely agree with this !



Leave a Reply

