h1

Have-A-Go Hero Stabbed To Death In Street

January 10, 2010

A man was stabbed to death while trying to stop two muggers who had stolen a woman’s bag.

Sukhwinder Singh pursued two men who robbed a 28-year-old woman near Barking station in east London. When he caught up with the pair a fight broke out and the 31-year-old was knifed.

Mr Singh chased the robbers along Victoria Road into Uphall Road before he was attacked just before 7pm on Friday. He was taken to the Royal London hospital but later died. A post-mortem is due to take place.

Sukhwinder Singh
Hero Sukhwinder Singh

Detective Inspector John Sandlin, of the Metropolitan Police, said: “This is a tragic death of a man who was killed for attempting to stop others committing crime, and our thoughts are with Sukhwinder’s family.

7 comments

  1. […] The rest is here: Have-A-Go Hero Stabbed To Death In Street « THE TWINING CHRONICLES … […]


  2. A cowardly murder causing you to brim with anger and disgust whilst conjuring the image of villains with long records.

    I hope these murderers are soon caught and that Mr Singh’s family suffer no financial hardship.


  3. Mr. Singh’

    I raise a glass to your honour.

    I must say though, your needless death has made me re-evaluate my code of conduct. Until yesterday, I would have said without hesitation that I would have run after some street muggers/hoodlums and in this case murderers. But this senseless death of a good man would now make me think twice. Although I wouldn’t exactly walk by and leave a victim laying on the road I don’t think I would now chase after and tackle a mugger. Although I can look after myself and indeed could actually incapacitate an assailant (with finality if I had to). All it takes is a moment for a knife to be cutting through your clothing, muscle and sinew to penetrate a vital organ. I would like to see my children marry and have grand children and share with them the wonders of nature. Also, how would I stand if I snapped the neck of a street robber? Would I be feted as a hero, or placed on trial? Somehow I think it would be the latter. Although if that did happen, would I be stupid enough to hang around? A dilemma that I hope I will never have to face.

    I hope they catch these heartless scum and lock them up never to darken society again.


  4. A hero.


  5. I seem to remember that part of the Sikh tradition (& it is a warrior faith after all) is defending the weak.

    A fine man & a hero. And, of course, someone the BNPondlife would like to deport. Despite the fact that they themselves wouldn’t be fit to lick the soles of his shoes.

    Heart goes out to his family.


  6. Very heroic act and very sad consequences. Sometimes the endings always seem tragic.


  7. Sorry



Leave a Reply

